Annual Banquet


Our 25th annual Hall of Fame Induction Banquet is scheduled for Sunday, April 5th, once again to be held at the Valle Vista Country Club in Greenwood, beginning at 2 p.m.


The Class of 2020 will include Greg Bell (WIOU Kokomo), Larry Goffinet (Perry County News), Mike Hutton (Gary Post-Tribune), Paul Page (WIBC, NBC, ABC, ESPN), Myron Rainy (WBIW Bedford)  and Ray Marquette (Indianapolis Star/News).


In addition, this year’s recipients of the ISSA’s annual awards are Justin Cohn (Fort Wayne Journal-Gazette), the Corky Lamm Sportswriter of the Year; Greg Rakestraw (ISC Sports Network), the Marv Bates Sportscaster of the Year; and Charlie Jenkins (WXVW Jeffersonville), the Ron Lemasters Lifetime Achievement Award winner.


Please click on the “Hall of Fame” page for biographical information on each of this year’s award winners, and to see a roster of our Hall of Fame members.


The ISSA continues to grow and improve. Our membership has more than doubled during the past six years, now approaching 100 members.


Those interested in attending this year’s banquet should order their tickets, by mailing $30 per ticket to Fred Inniger, ISSA treasurer, 3011 Noble Hawk Drive, Kendallville, IN 46755. 


Please order your tickets before March 20.


Our banquet, which includes a buffet meal with four entrees, has attracted between 100-150  attendees in recent years. It is a great place to renew friendships with members of the state’s sports journalists, as well as honor those deemed to be among our best.


Also, those wishing to renew their ISSA memberships, or to join our association for the first time, may do so at the banquet, or by sending $20 (annual dues) to Fred.


To help celebrate our Silver Anniversary banquet, we will feature a guest speaker for the first time _ Angelo Pizzo, who was the screenwriter for the hit movies “Hoosiers” and “Rudy.” Pizzo will conduct a question and answer session from the audience after his speech.



If you know of a sports journalist (working or retired) whom you believe should be considered for the ISSA’s Hall of Fame, please go to the bottom of any page on this Website and click on “Nominate” to recommend that person.


The ISSA board of directors will be meeting in early July to vote on next year’s Hall of Fame honorees.

Class of 2019 Hall of Fame member Gordon Engelhardt

2019 Hall of Fame inductee Mike Haynes

2019 Bob Williams Helping Hand Award winner Mike Skvara

2019 Hall of Fame inductee Chuck Freeby

2019 Ron Lemasters Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Steve Fields

Robin Miller accepted his 2019 Hall of Fame honor by video since he was on assignment 

2019 Marv Bates Sportscaster of the Year Rick Semmler with ISSA president Tom Kubat

2019 Corky Lamm Sportswriter of the Year Award recipient Mike Carmin with ISSA president, and former Lafayette Journal & Courier co-worker, Tom Kubat

Photos from recent ISSA banquets

Legendary IU announcer Don Fischer (right), and ISSA Hall of Famer, congratulates 2018 inductee Larry Clisby, the voice of the Boilermakers

2018 Hall of Fame Inductee Conrad Brunner

2018 Hall of Fame Inductee

Tom Rietmann 

2018 Hall of Fame Inductee

Steve Krah

Todd Golden (left) receives his 2018 Corky Lamm Sportswriter of the Year Award from Tom Kubat, ISSA president

Bob Lovell, legendary radio personality and ISSA Hall of Famer, was a presenter at this year’s banquet.

Sam Simmermaker, emcee extraordinaire 

Rob Blackman, Purdue sports radio color commentator, was a presenter at the 2018 banquet 

ISSA Board of Directors at 2019 Banquet 


Front row, left to right: Sam Simmermaker, Steve Warden, Fred Inniger (treasurer), Ted Schultz, Dan Korb, Andrew Smith, Mark Morrow. Back row, left to right: Pat McKee, Rex Kirts, Tom Kubat (president), Greg Rakestraw, Paul Condry

Email ISSA President, Tom Kubat


Contact Us
Nominate a Sports Journalist for the Hall of Fame
ISSA members are comprised of hundreds of active and retired sports journalist in the state of Indiana